Book Reviews

Review of the series- Percy Jackson and the Olympians


NAME OF THE SERIES:  Percy Jackson and The Olympians

AUTHOR: Rick Riordan

GENRE:  Fantasy, fiction, Adventure, Children’s literature, young adult fiction.


PUBLISHED: 2005-2009

PUBLISHER: Disney Hyperion (US)  ; Miramax books(US 1ST edition) ; Penguin books/Puffin (US,AU,NZ)


Percy Jackson and the Olympians often  referred to as Percy Jackson or PJO, is a pentalogy of fantasy adventure novels written by Rick Riordan, an American author and is the first book series in Camp half blood chronicles. The series follows the adventures of Percy Jackson, a half blood also known as demigod. The first book in the series is ‘The Lightning Thief’  which is followed by ‘Sea of Monsters’ , ‘The Titan’s curse’, ‘The Battle of Labyrinth’ and ‘The Last Olympian’ in the respective order.


The most important aspect of the series is the diversity among the characters. There is diversity among their ethnicity, personality as well as their sexuality. Most of the main characters including Percy are dyslexic and ADHD. This makes the children of the dyslexic and ADHD community feel represented. The representation may not be perfect all the time, but the fact that he used his platform to make children who are deemed ‘abnormal’ by the society learn to accept themselves and achieve their goals no matter what just like Percy Jackson did, is commendable. He gave as much as representation he could in a way children could understand. This aspect of the book and the author enriched the series as a whole making it one of the best selling series of all time.


The first book in the series is the lightning thief so here’s a brief summary:

Percy Jackson was a 12 year old student of  Yancy academy, a boarding school for troubled kids in upstate New York, when he was attacked by monsters. With the help of his friend Grover, a satyr about which he comes to know later, and his Latin teacher Mr. Brunner, who is in fact the centaur of the legend named Chiron, Percy makes it safely back to his home for summer vacation. His mother Sally comes to know about the attacks and decides that its time he learns the truth  and sends him to Camp Half Blood on long island. There Percy learns that he is a half blood or a demigod meaning one of his parents is a god, which was his father. Later he meets Annabeth, daughter of Athena, the goddess of wisdom and war craft, and along with Grover he starts learning the art of wielding weapons, combat fighting and the world of demigods, gods, mythical creatures and legends. After some days, he was claimed by Poseidon, the god of the sea, earthquakes and horses as his son and it is soon discovered that Zeus had blamed Percy for stealing his weapon ‘The Master Bolt’ and was threatening Poseidon to ask Percy to bring it back to him. The feud between the two gods sets off  Percy’s first adventure as he goes on a quest along with Grover  and Annabeth to bring back the master bolt to Zeus and save the mortal realm from the wrath of the gods.

The Lightning Thief is followed  by Sea of Monsters in the series.



Books written by the same author: Heroes of Olympus; the Kane chronicles; Magnus chase and the Gods of Asgard; The Trials of Apollo

Other series: The Maze Runner ; The Hunger Games; Harry Potter; Divergent and many more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top